Portrait Party over at Flickr

Julia Kay’s hosted a Portrait Party over at Flickr and my painting has come to a halt : )  I have done a few portrait swaps in the past, for Rama Hughes blog, The Portrait Party , the annual Portrait swap at WetCanvas and more recently the ones organized by Karin Jurick.  But in terms of sheer number of people participating with one another, none were in the league of the current party that I’ve jumped in to.

24 steve huison

I’d first read about them on Rama Hughes blog where he had written about how his family used to throw Portrait Parties and draw each other.   He’d suggested others organise their own.  For me it seemed out of the question as I couldn’t imagine being able to round up a party worth of guests who’d be willing to spend an evening drawing portraits or posing for each other : )

11 Giorgio Bordin

And then along came Julia Kay with this brilliant idea to throw one on Flickr.

18 art informel

There are 260 members at a party which will continue for as long as you want it to.   I’ve made 24 portraits so far and have had 16 of made of me.  Have a look at the wonderful portraits being exchanged on flickr by this group.

Flickr Portrait Party

2 thoughts on “Portrait Party over at Flickr

  1. Thanks for writing about the Party! So glad you joined and have been having fun – I love your portraits! Also, while I was familiar with Rama Hughes Portrait Party blog, I wasn’t familiar with Karin Jurick or the WetCanvas project – so thank you for putting us in context, and letting me know about similar projects!

    This is a handy link back to the party – it’s a slide show of everything in the pool, starting with the most recent portrait:
    http://www.flickr.com/groups/portraitparty/pool/show/

  2. Thanks Julia for stopping by and for a wonderful, wonderful party! I’ve updated the post with the link to the show.

Leave a Reply

