Solitude

KMP 37/100 - final

Boredom. Loneliness. Anonymity.  All the things we’ve learnt to avoid and in the process lost our ability to spend time on our own with just our thoughts for company.   I found that journaling helped me get into the mode where I would spend time thinking about things.  I’m a product of our time and cannot get away from the Net for long.  It’s long arms pull me back and hold me closer every time I try.   6 months ago or so I did 12 weeks of the morning* pages once more and came across this very interesting article on Solitude, why it is important and an equally interesting interview (audio) with the author based on this article.  A must read!

What does the contemporary self want? The camera has created a culture of celebrity; the computer is creating a culture of connectivity. As the two technologies converge — broadband tipping the Web from text to image, social-networking sites spreading the mesh of interconnection ever wider — the two cultures betray a common impulse. Celebrity and connectivity are both ways of becoming known. This is what the contemporary self wants. It wants to be recognized, wants to be connected: It wants to be visible. If not to the millions, on Survivor or Oprah, then to the hundreds, on Twitter or Facebook. This is the quality that validates us, this is how we become real to ourselves — by being seen by others. The great contemporary terror is anonymity. William Deresiewicz.   

Read his full article “End of Solitude

And hear his interview based on this article.

* When i did the morning pages the first time I wrote in a file on my computer when I could and it was mostly last thing at night.  The second time around I tried to follow the rules wrote long hand and on most days managed to write first thing in the morning.  I haven’t as yet managed to go back in and separate the nuggets of info from the drivel.

Stages that the painting went through over 3 sessions.

KMP 37/100 KMP 37/100 - wip

KMP 37/100KMP 37/100 - final

Oil on Canvas.

Update : June 11, 2010 : And a song by Suzanne Vega to go with the title of this post.

7 thoughts on “Solitude

  1. Very lovely painting.

    I understand the lore of the computer, wanting to see who is looking for you and if you should be following up with someone etc. We kind of fill our time up with nothing. I’ve committed myself to painting without the computer or radio being on. I will let you know when I breakdown.

    When will you be at ASL?

  2. thank you Bob : ) i would like to be firm with myself too. here’s hoping that you can keep it up for as long as you want. i’ve registered for morn/aft classes in july.

  3. Love the painting Ujwala! waiting to see your work! Your bold strokes define the character of the subject or is it the artist?

  4. Great portrait again. Also the light that you have been painting into your recent work! Just love it.

Leave a Reply

