Grandparents and painting despite a never ending supply of excuses!

These are part of the “starts” that I’ve been working on lately, numbered 35 and 36.   There is a faint resemblance to my parents but none to my nephew.  But then that wasn’t my main aim in this exercise and with each passing piece I am able to get away from trying to work towards likeness alone.  I’m still working hard at trying to give the figures form.  For example the baby in the top painting has more form than in the one that I’d painted earlier.

KMP 36/100

Haven’t painted as much as I wanted to lately.  My current excuses are

  • that April has been a busy month with family and friends visiting.
  • it’s been incredibly hot and humid in Colombo.  The turpentine prevents me from using the air-conditioning and the sweat baths discourage me from painting when the weather is so.  I’m already on two showers a day and cannot imagine having a 3rd!
  • I can’t paint until my studio is organised and all my books sorted out!

I’m surprised I even paint at all!

KMP 35/100


KMP’s are skill building exercises advised by Kevin Macpherson in his book Fill Your Oil Paintings with Light & Color. I started these in 2007 and am continuing with it in 2010. If you want to know more about this set of exercises click here.

Leave a Reply

