KMP 24/100 & Copy a Master

The piece that this painting has been based on caught my eye a while back and was promptly saved in my digital shoebox.  It is titled head of a man and painted by John Singleton Copely.

KMP 24/100  copy a master

I’d been saving it up for my “copy a master” studies.   Under self-imposed pressure to paint more regularly I recently restarted the 100 starts exercise.  This piece satisfies both criteria : )   While looking at my earlier attempts at copying the masters, I see that I continue to shorten faces and paint in much larger eyes.  I wonder if as they say this is based on my own features!


KMP’s are skill building exercises advised by Kevin Macpherson in his book Fill Your Oil Paintings with Light & Color. I started these in 2007 and am continuing with it in 2010. If you want to know more about this set of exercises click here.

Leave a Reply

