KMP’s & Opinions continued

On reading my post Opinions, a friend wrote to say that he’d been afraid to leave a comment not knowing how I would react.  I decided that there might be others who felt the same and would like to clear up any confusion I’ve inadvertently created.

kmp 22/100 crop

A couple of things I’d like to add to the earlier post.  First a confession.  I  love my work, I always have!  But that does not stop me from seeing the problem areas/mistakes in each piece.  In the beginning, I did not know how to fix these and felt that the probability of making it worse were too high to take a chance.  Now I know that if I mess up I could make a similar piece that I’d also be happy with.

KMP 21/100

I value comments from friends as well as fellow artists and the different perspectives they provide.   I look forward to some from both!

KMP 20/100

Here are a few more KMP’s.  The one at the top of the page is. 22/100.  Still not able to stop at the half an hour mark with the posterised “start” and steadily adding more and more details.  Today I  followed the procedure to begin with and then continued beyond the exercise till I realised that it had been over an hour.   I will set a timer the next time and at least stop to take a pic as a record of that stage.

The bottom two sketches were made on days when I did not get around to painting.  I’m once again getting closer to my goal of drawing or painting regularly.

P1190188_2.jpg P1190187_3.jpg


KMP’s are skill building exercises advised by Kevin Macpherson in his book Fill Your Oil Paintings with Light & Color. I started these in 2007 and am continuing with it in 2010. If you want to know more about this set of exercises click here.

Leave a Reply

