Trading ATC’s

my first atc

My first portrait swaps were for the Annual Portrait Exchange over at WetCanvas! and I learned from and enjoyed the experience. Then there was The Portrait Party blog where I found the quick exchanges exciting and refreshing. Recently I joined Bearuh girl’s Monday Artday ATC exchange network and decided to combine the two 😀 And Mellanie agreed to both. This is my first ATC and you can also see the swap at the Portrait Party blog.

Acrylics were used because of the earlier experience of painting the Altoid tin cover. Problems of painting in that size had been forgotten and secondly getting a likeness had not been important then. It was quite difficult to control the brush in the 2.5″ X 3.5″ space. And getting a likeness successfully evaded me. Several smaller sized brushes should’ve been kept handy or at least that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it! I have a new respect for all those artists who made miniatures!! Mellanie has been very sporting and has accepted the results. Cant wait to get a hold of the beautiful one I will get in exchange. Here’s a preview and you can read more about it on Mellanie’s blog, See.Draw.Share.

A couple of facts about these tiny art cards. ATC is the name used when they are traded and ACEO when they are put up for sale. These cards can be of at least 3 varieties – originals, limited edition prints and prints. The ones we are exchanging are original ATC’s. It’s been a great experience. Mellanie has started trading in earnest and I’m sure I’ll be trying out more soon.

Monday Artday ATC is a place for Artists to trade cards. Do visit to see what it’s all about.

5 thoughts on “Trading ATC’s

  1. Pingback: Portrait Swap with Ujwala « See. Draw. Share.

  2. Pingback: Portrait Swap with Cindy Gray « See. Draw. Share.

Leave a Reply

