KMP 10/100

KMP 9/100 was made in May last year and I had thought then that I’d do many many more. I’ve taken it up again this year. This is my first. I have to got back and refresh my memory as once again I’ve taken liberties while painting the lights, darks and shadows.

KMP 10/100

There was this beautiful photograph of my friend standing with the afternoon sunlight streaming down on her to one side, probably through windows to one side or an open door. I cant remember. I’ve kept this reference aside to paint as there was something special in it.

In keeping with the requirements ( the ones that I remembered ) I made a rough sketch with a marker laying down the shadow / dark areas. The second piece was made with oils on illustration board which had previously been primed with leftover acrylic paints. I hope to come back someday to make that painting.


KMP’s are skill building exercises advised by Kevin Macpherson in his book Fill Your Oil Paintings with Light & Color. I started these in 2007 and am continuing with it in 2010. If you want to know more about this set of exercises click here.

4 thoughts on “KMP 10/100

  1. I am a beginner to painting, though I have done crafty types of things and spent time drawing. I am currently using acrylics and have begun my 100 starts. Like you, I’ve started with photo references and hope to move to still lifes and then landscapes. I’m finding it difficult and have a few questions. Am I to understand that when I move to the canvas, I don’t first sketch out the shapes. I did an elephant and tried just to concentrate on the shapes starting with the lightest light and when I finished the poor thing was quite deformed. I realize we are not aiming for a finished product, but I have difficulty even knowing where to put the shapes. Also, in step two, the darkest dark, could that be a shadow? By the way, your paintings are beautiful—even the starts!

  2. Hi Anna Marie. I’ve stopped doing these starts a while back but do want to get back and finish them! 🙂 As per my recollection/understanding we do need to make a sketch but a rough one and not detailed. It’s more about simplifying by reducing the number of forms and colours. The darkest dark could be an area in the shadow. One trick would be to convert your image to grey scale and then you can see the values clearly and decide on which area is the darkest. Hope this helps. All the best with your painting efforts. Do send me a link as I would love to have a look.

Leave a Reply

