Bitten off more than I can chew?

IMG_0300

I’m certain that I’m going to go crazy in the month of November having signed up for 4 activities and planning a 5th!

The first is hosting the 3rd Monthly WWAO Online Exhibition. I’m a member of wwaologourl.gifWWAO , a group comprising of women artists from all over the world working in various mediums and support, showcasing and selling their work online. The theme this month is “These are a few of my favourite things!” and you can see all the wonderful art on display here. The work on this project is now complete and will require the least amount of work as it is up already. It will stay online from today till the end of the month. I now only need to check regularly in case there are comments or queries about purchase etc.

The second is signing up to write 50,000 words this month! I’d signed up for Official NaNoWriMo 2007 ParticipantNaNoWriMo last year but chickened out at the last moment. When a reminder came in this year, I just signed up. Wrote my first 1,493 words today. It was tough. And to top it all it isn’t enough!! I need to write about 1800 words a day if I am to make it to the end. So I’m playing catch up from day one. And why am I on this mad adventure? I’m hoping it will help me write better!!!!! Apparently it gets better after two weeks. I found one similarity with painting. You are asked to let yourself go with the flow. I like that and it’s just what I did today.

What is NaNoWriMo?
National Novel Writing Month is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to novel writing. Participants begin writing November 1. The goal is to write a 175-page (50,000-word) novel by midnight, November 30.

Valuing enthusiasm and perseverance over painstaking craft, NaNoWriMo is a novel-writing program for everyone who has thought fleetingly about writing a novel but has been scared away by the time and effort involved.

Because of the limited writing window, the ONLY thing that matters in NaNoWriMo is output. It’s all about quantity, not quality. The kamikaze approach forces you to lower your expectations, take risks, and write on the fly.

Look out for details on the 3rd, 4th and 5th November project in tomorrows post. The nice part about having over extended myself is that now I feel like drawing and painting. 😀 I’ve borrowed a stack of old issues of National Geographic from a friend and plan to put in some drawing and sketching practice. The rough sketch above is based on the cover of a Nat Geog issue on The Amazon.

Blue ballpoint in the little notebook ( 4″ X 6″ ) I carry around to scribble my thoughts and painting ideas in.

3 thoughts on “Bitten off more than I can chew?

  1. you ARE busy…but as they say..to get something done, give it to a busy person! I’m going to have a look at your WWAO and good luck with your writing!
    Ronell

  2. i think i’m going to be. I’m hoping to keep up with all the 5 planned activities. pls keep your fingers crossed for me 😀

  3. Pingback: Three, Four and Five « draw the line

Leave a Reply

