Loosening up

September 16,2007 : The paint was wet on the first painting and I wasn’t ready to go back and finish the Ashulia Lady and so I decided to experiment some more. There was this beautiful, strong B&W photograph,taken by Anil, of a common friend. The thinking was that a monochrome painting would be different from what I’d been working on lately. I started off fine with a limited palette, mixing blacks and greys but one thing led to another and soon I was laying color over the black and white layers. It wasn’t an underpainting as I didn’t wait that long.

Getting a reasonable likeness was an important factor as I planned to gift it if it turned out well. My husband gave me good feedback both on likeness and the style I was employing. I had to stop as I was going out for dinner.

BS

I had initially planned on waiting till I got the colour reference from Anil. When we returned that night I couldnt resist taking a peek at it. The changes that needed to be made were shouting out at me and I couldn’t resist. Jumped right in and it was another very late night. 😀

BS BS

The first photograph was taken that night and the second yesterday evening. The actual piece is somewhere between the two. Closer to the second photo. I havent worked on it since Thursday. I’m quite happy with where it is now. Need to just fix a few of the features, like the ear, hair etc. and then I’m calling it done.

I would love to hear from you on whether you think this is looser than my earlier paintings? If you havent see any of the others, would you independently consider this to be painterly and “loose”? Whether you like colours to blend smoothly from one to another in a painting or prefer it to look painterly?

Comments and suggestions always welcome. I wanted to put in a poll to make things easier for you to give me some feedback but there doesnt seem to be an easy solution for a wordpress.com blog. If you know of one, do let me know.

Update : September 18, 2007 : I tried to do some major fixing and am now in a soup 😀 I did like it better at stage 2. Lucien Freud has been on my mind for a while and I think you can see his influence. I guess I’ll keep on going. The photographs below are from last night and this afternoon.

BS - wip 3 BS - wip 4

Photo reference copyright Anil Advani used with permission.

One thought on “Loosening up

  1. hi nice blog on painting. your knowledge about painting and your sketching is impressing . I got one site while searching in google as blogaddda.com they showcase the all indian blogs. why don’t you add you blog in blogadda try it !
    keep on updating.

Leave a Reply

