KMP 3/100

KMP 3/100

I think maybe I should choose landscape references to do some of these. At least until I get the hang of it. I find that I cant stop adding in details. I’m also having a problem using a clean brush for each color. This time I did start with a two value sketch before moving on to the canvas. I am keeping a track of each of the references as I’m sure i’ll want to come back to complete them.


KMP’s are skill building exercises advised by Kevin Macpherson in his book Fill Your Oil Paintings with Light & Color. I started these in 2007 and am continuing with it in 2010. If you want to know more about this set of exercises click here.

7 thoughts on “KMP 3/100

  1. I like this painting, Ujwala. It has a mystical feeling…very nice.
    I know what you mean about adding details. The hardest thing for me to do is to decide when to stop, especially in a medium like oil…you can keep going forever! That’s why it is important to leave any kind of detail for last, because when you get to that stage, it might not even be necessary for all these details we saw in the beginning.
    Well done!
    Ronell

  2. I like this painting, Ujwala. It has a mystical feeling…very nice.
    I know what you mean about adding details. The hardest thing for me to do is to decide when to stop, especially in a medium like oil…you can keep going forever! That’s why it is important to leave any kind of detail for last, because when you get to that stage, it might not even be necessary for all these details we saw in the beginning.
    Well done!
    Ronell

  3. I’m sorry for the double messages…I didn’t get response that my mesage was accepted, so I repeated it!!
    Ronell

  4. Sorry about that Ronell. It’s just for the first time you comment.

    And thank you. This is a part of the 100 starts that I’m doing as an exercise and the paintings are supposed to look like flat posters but I just cant seem to stop myself from adding in some details. I hope the next one is flat like it’s meant to be 😛 This is from a photoref of a woman washing clothes by the river in the afternoon.

  5. I really like the colours in this painting. Very nice!

    I was wondering if you – and your friends! – would be interested in taking part in our Paint Something “Good” Contest over at the Legends of Mernac for a chance to win $500. This contest is centered around a different theme word each month for the next year, with a winner every month. May’s theme word is Fantasy.

    You can find our more about it here:
    http://siberlee-mernac.blogspot.com/2007/04/paint-somethng-good-art-contest.html

    Great work!

Leave a Reply

