Angels and Devils – Illustration Friday

angel with wings.jpg

there was little girl
she had a little curl
right in the middle of her forehead
when she was good
she was very very good
and when she was bad she was horrid.
[ a poem we learnt in school]

I think we all have a bit of the angel and the devil within us at least I think I have 😛 [ in case there are those who are in denial 😛 ] and that's what i was trying to depict.
angel devil
calm anger
sunny thunderous
I'm afraid the illustration is fairly pathetic. I havent done something like this since I was a kid. But I enjoyed sitting down to draw and color it. If anyone has any tips, sites etc. on how to get started on digital illustrations do leave me a comment.

Will work on another which I have in mind hopefully before the next I-fri is announced. I miss my tablet.

Update: May 24th – Realised after looking at some of the other angels that I'd  forgotten to give my angel wings! Added them today.

9 thoughts on “Angels and Devils – Illustration Friday

  1. This is great! I really like it.
    I agree with you on that we all have both the angel and the devil within us. Unfortunately, or fortunately, depending on who you’re asking, it seems that my angel seem to have the upper hand. I’d much rather have some fun with my devil 😉

  2. thanks carra, unfortunately i have to agree with you about the angel though the devil is always peeking over her shoulder 'n winking at me. 😛

    arvindh – tks – the poem is not mine though. one of the site lists it as by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow – http://www.cs.rice.edu/~ssiyer/minstrels/poems/835.html and I've have edited it above to add a line that i seemed to have forgotten – "right in the middle of her forehead"

    msdabble – i like the grown up version!

  3. just realised that the wings were missing! will add that when i get back home 😛

  4. btw, thats NOT how the poem gos, you forgot the other verses, when i was a little girl my grandmother would read this one over and over to me every night but only because i begged for it, when i got older she stopped so i would sneak it to my room and read it to myself, heres how it REALLY gos:

    There was a little girl and she had a curl,
    right in the middle of her forhead.
    When she was good she was very very good,
    but when she was bad, she was horrid.

    One day she went upstairs while her parents, unawares,
    In the kitchen down below were at their meals,
    And she stood upon her head, on her little trundle bed,
    And she then began hurraying with her heels.

    Her mother heard the noise, And thought it was the boys,
    A-playing at a combat in the attic,
    But when she climbed the stair and saw Jemima there,
    She took her and did spank her most emphatic!

    and,…..ya thatz it

  5. Pingback: Trouble - Illustration Friday « draw the line

Leave a Reply

